Why Disney is Still Important for Adults

One of the perks of living in Florida is that Disney World is right in my backyard.

cinderella-castle-gallery07
Taken from the Walt Disney World Website.

They offer Florida residents annual passes, which means for a monthly payment we can go whenever we want throughout the year (depending on what kind of pass you have and if it has blackout dates, but that’s neither here nor there). I couldn’t actually get these passes until I got married, though, and it didn’t have nearly as much new stuff before that as it does now.

I’ve had these passes for two years now and I still light up every time I walk through the gates of Magic Kingdom. Every time I meet a princess (who I know are paid actors), I still want a picture and a hug. Walking the World Showcase at Epcot always feels like I went globe hopping. Same thing goes for the animated movies. I watched through those VHS tapes as a kid, rewinded them over and over so I could watch them again. I’ve had some of them memorized since I was four, but I will still go on Netflix nowadays and click on whatever classic pops up, or put in a DVD and start singing.

Some could say the Mouse owns me…they could be a little right. I’ve fallen for Walt’s big “con” hook, line and sinker. I will probably pass this obsession down to my kids if they take to it. That’s not the point, though.

Disney still means childhood magic. Believing in your dreams, finding a way out, doing the right thing. All of these lessons still inspire me as an adult. While I’m old enough to spot the flaws in my favorite stories and I’m more critical of the newer films, I refuse to let myself become jaded.

(Some amazing Disney cosplayers from Megacon 2016 in Orlando.)

Disney, Don Bluth, Tim Burton, Dora the Explorer, the Teletubbies, Sesame Street, Spongebob Squarepants, Between the Lions, The Big Comfy Couch, Star Wars, Star Trek (Original, TNG and everything else), Pokemon, Age of Empires, Nintendo, Star Craft, Legend of Zelda, Star Fox, Yu-Gi-Oh, Digimon, WHATEVER. Whatever inspired your childhood and gives you goosebumps every time you experience it, keep sharing.

What still gives you childhood magic? What’s your favorite nostalgia? Let’s get a Show and Tell going here! 🙂

Daily Dose of Kitty:

img_0850

 

2 thoughts on “Why Disney is Still Important for Adults

  1. I think that honestly, one the biggest sources of nostalgia for me will always come from horror films. I watched Halloween when I was no more than 7 years old, and that theme song always brings me back to younger days. My less terrible answer is anything on Cartoon Network, back when I drew my own comics that were rip-offs of the Powerpuff Girls and Sailor Moon. Either way, to me the best things are those that inspire us creatively, which is why nostalgia also means rekindling that fearless gusto we all had as kids to draw and write and act, no matter how bad our first/second/eleventh try was. Or in my case, to write a lot of weird horror stories in my 5th grade composition book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I only got even a little knowledgeable about horror after marrying the hubby. Totally with you on the magical girl craze though. Such cute outfits and fun! I like that, fearless gusto! I still have the first novel attempt I made in 7th grade. It was horrible, but I finished it. Pig men, evil wizards, dragons, romantic clichés, the whole bunch!

      I’d kill to read some of those old mini Cori horror stories!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

