Passion: A Thought Experiment

Long time no see. Thank you for your patience through the hiatus. As much as I wanted to be here, one of my kitties was struggling with a a serious illness. It took a turn for the worse in November, and now she’s crossed the rainbow bridge (I’m sure she’s very happy to have her teeth back).

After that, a string of Winter holidays hit and the family duties that come with them–it’s Christmas for moi–so I needed some time away to recuperate.

Rest assured, I’m back and renewed, even if the only ones listening are chirping crickets.

That’s actually what inspired today’s topic. Passion. Where does it come from? I’m sure there’s a psycho-scientific explanation for all of it. Lots of chemicals in certain parts of our brain working together to coincide with the decisions we make. Of course, I have always suspected and believed that all animals were more than their instincts, biology, and wiring. Especially us humans, who evolved into beings who create, discover, and invent. We can shape the world around us, for good or ill. While I don’t rule out the existence of otherworldly beings or interstellar civilizations who have these abilities as well, on this planet so far, we are special.

Humans nowadays tend to yearn for something greater than basic survival. A lot of the ones I know consider themselves “creatives” and have an ache if they aren’t pursing their passions. If I don’t make stories for too long, my life dips. Others who don’t consider themselves particularly inventive, who lean toward the practical suffer similar pangs. I know a guy, a devout pupil of chemistry, who isn’t happy unless he’s messing with molecules (particularly in the pursuit of brewing his own alcohol). I’ve seen students who obsess over car parts and how they fit together, will revel when they think about fixing a big rig’s engine. How many hobbyists post their crafty projects on Facebook for all to see? How many showcase their recipes and fitness journeys without people paying them a cent?

Exploring this raw human potential gets me excited, whether people monetize their loves or are content practicing them in the shelter of home. It gives us some deeper meaning, this exercising our power to pursue what makes us thrill.

Most important of all I’d say is the passion for others: humans, pets, and wild things alike. Bringing each other joy along with ourselves brings out the best in us, so why shouldn’t it bring out the best in them? The whole idea of “Paying it Forward” or the Golden Rule is based around this unspoken principle. Is it weaved into our DNA that to take care of ourselves we must take care of each other? Is it merely a societal construct we developed for survival?

The point, passion is good. I hope it only grows.

As usual, your thoughts are always welcome. Collaborate! Tell me I’m full of it! Prove me right or wrong! The floor is an open forum.

And of course…

Your Daily Dose of Kitty

img_1802
They’ll always have each other, whether in body or spirit.

 

 

One thought on “Passion: A Thought Experiment

  1. I know I get depressed when I go without drawing for a while, it dampens my motivation and slowly starts to dissolve any spontaneous thoughts of ‘oh, I want to illustrate this idea!’. It’s kind of like a habit, and maybe we feel a bit guilty when we haven’t kept up with something so ingrained in our lives, especially from a young age when we had limitless time to pursue whatever interests we had. But I think it’s interesting too, that everyone tends to have something (art-related or not) that starts to affect them if it isn’t ‘fed’. It’s a cool aspect of humanity, that the more we create and pursue what we love, the happier we are…and usually others benefit along the way. You’re developing part of your individuality, and it becomes ‘that thing you’re good at’, so I suppose it also ties into our confidence which obviously affects our mood and day to day life. …And with that, I’m off to draw something haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

